The Catholic University of America

Sutherland Cup


The annual Sutherland Moot Court Competition, hosted by The Catholic University of America, Columbus School of Law, will be held in March 27-28, 2015.  The Sutherland Moot Court Competition gives students the opportunity to argue before private and government practitioners, active judges, and ABA regulators.
The Sutherland Moot Court Competition is the oldest, private moot competition in the country. Originally a competition between four law schools – Columbus School of Law, Yale Law School, Columbia Law School, and Fordham Law School – the competition is designed to tackle active constitutional issues in the same manner as Supreme Court Justice George Sutherland did– precisely, vigorously, and zealously.
Registration for the competition will open during the fall of 2015 and close on December 9, 2015 at midnight. Each team, including those from schools with more than one team, must work independently on its brief.  After briefs have been submitted, teams from the same school may work together to prepare for oral arguments.  Each team must be comprised of a minimum of two and maximum of three students.  At least two students per team must argue in each round.

For more information, please contact Sutherland Vice Chancellor Carla Weaver at The 2015 Sutherland Cup Registration Form is available here.

 We look forward to hearing from you!